Better Care and Services Framework and Accreditation

Better Care and Services Framework

Our Better Care and Services Framework is designed to ensure all people and consumers at Merri Health understand how we achieve high quality and safe healthcare and support services, and what everyone’s role is in achieving this.

The framework uses the Safer Care Victoria, Department of Health and Human Services legislation and policy and applicable accreditation requirements.

Learn about how we achieve better care via our framework. We also have a summary version.


Keeping to quality care and continuous improvements for better outcomes.

Merri Health has policies, procedures and management systems in place to improve quality and safety, and reduce risk to clients, staff and the community. This is supported by a Quality Governance framework and associated work plan. 

Our clinical and corporate governance systems ensure quality is monitored, reviewed and reported and is of the highest standard.

We also take part in quality accreditation reviews. Compliance with applicable accreditation standards is part of our quality governance.   

Accreditation standard Certificate Next scheduled assessment

NDIS Practice Standards

Review undertaken October 2020.

10 December 2023

Aged Care Standards (ACS)

19 June 2019

20 June 2022

Communication Access Standards (CA)

25 August 2020

25 August 2022

Early Childhood Intervention Standards 2016

11 July 2018
(Now linked to NDIS Practice Standards certification)

10 December 2023

Mental Health Service Accreditation Program

31 October 2020

31 October 2022

Quality Improvement Council (QIC)

20 November 2019

20 November 2022

Human Services Standards (HSS)

20 November 2019

20 November 2022

Community Care Common Standards (HCC)

20 March 2019 

20 November 2022

National Safety and Quality in Healthcare Standards (NSQHS) dental services.

19 November 2019

19 November 2022

Rainbow Tick Inclusive Practice Standards

20 November 2019

20 November 2022

Rainbow Tick accreditation

QIP assessors review us against six Rainbow Tick standards, which demonstrate gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and intersex inclusive practice and service delivery.

We have met all six standards. We are very proud of this result, which recognises the large amount of commitment and effort that we made to make our services more inclusive.

Our next full accreditation review is due to be held in 2022.

NDIS Practice Standards